Share: Del.icio.us  Digg  Google  Spurl  Blink  Furl  Y! MyWeb  
#1   How to have more than one languages in phpnuke
nikits72
CZ Newbie
nikits72 has been a member for over 19 year's 19 Year Member
greece.gif
0.00 posts per day

Hi all,

i am relatively new to the phpnuke concept and i would like to ask something crucial for me,because it will affect how i will proceed with my further site development.
I would be very much obliged if i could see some notes/thoughts from expirienced phpnukers.Though let me warn you that this maybe a long post and my english are not so good.

So here is the idea.
I want to make a site which will support more than one languages (lets say two but it could be more).In fact depending to the visitor's choice the site will change the language. From what i 've read -from the phpnuke manual though not sure if i understood right- the multilingual option changes the language of the block/modules to the selected one.Yet ,i have not make clear in my mind if it will change the content too assuming that i enter it in both languages.

Now the solutions i have thought about this question could be:

1.Two identical phpnuke sites with the multilingual feature off,one for each language.Depending the link selection at the first page (which will be a simple html index page) it will throw visitor to the relevant language phpnuke site.
Disadvantages are obvious...to name one:
Double work to do maintaining and updating 2 phpnuke sites.

2.In case multilingual option is enough to cover my demands i do it this way.As i already said, i am not sure if multilingual option will be enough.Though ,i have the feeling that this is the option i should follow.

3.Whatever i write in the site to be written in both languages (separated by a space line or similar) in order to distinguish the language difference.